Flash Back Friday (a little late)

I thought since I didn’t have to work until 8 for the first time in over a week, I could squeeze out a post. That didn’t happen. Napping happened. Anywhere, here’s the post I was planning for yesterday:

With my birthday just right around the corner, I thought I’d talk about how, sometimes, I like 2005 a lot. It was not a banner year for music or fashion but I was 17, so all I have are fond memories. Two things motivated me to write this post. The first was Karen Walker’s release of her “poolside” collection sunglasses. I love big oversized sun glasses almost as much as I love my mom. Can I admit that I was in love with the bug eyed queen of these shades, Nicole Richie, in my youth? I was convinced that my first tattoo would be a replica of the one on her foot. I just adored her to the point I would bring pictures of her hair cut to my stylist and demand that she “do this” to my hair. I just want to point of that she is now the founder of the successful House of Harlow. Also married to Joel Madden, hello 2005 crush.

  
Second thing, my friend, Jamie, bought me tickets to see The Academy Is… for my birthday. I have not stopped listening to them since they broke up in 2010 and I cannot even begin to tell you how excited I was to hear that there was a ten year anniversary tour of Almost Here. The only thing is seeing how William Beckett aged makes me feel old. But the ever elusive Mike Carden is still perfection and when I see them I will still scream like a respectable 2005 fan girl.

Other notable highlights from this year:
Matthew Good released “In A Coma” which is a collection of his music from 1995-2005. It’s almost impossible to believe my favorite songs of his came out within the most recent decade. Makes me look forward to the next ten, Matt.

Gwen Stefani’s L.A.M.B. came out at the very end of 2004 but was (dare I say) over played through 2005. While I was so disappointed that No Doubt took a break, if I knew her solo career would eventually lead to this song, I would have been more understanding. L.O.V.E. her

Leave a Reply

