Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Review

I just finished reading the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series. I was intrigued by the photos that fill this book that help tell the story. The book was originally just going to be a book of photographs, but the author was encouraged to write a narrative based on them. For the most part, the author is very clever in coming up with a story around the photographs. I liked getting to put a face with the name and referencing the pictures when I couldn’t remember the peculiar trait of each character. I have to say by the end of the last book it seemed like he just wanted to use a photo and added parts that were not necessary or, sometimes, not logical. I give the author props and it couldn’t have been that bad since, after all, I did finish all three books.

What hooked me to the story was the overall feeling it gave me. It reminds me of dreams (or even nightmares) I had as a child. It’s weird to say that it made me feel nostalgic, but it did. My dad’s always been interested in spooky photos and in fact, he has to board on Pinterest dedicated to photos similar to the ones in this book. Wait, your dad doesn’t have a Pinterest? Super lame.

This is a story based on children, so if you’re not into the young adult genre, this book is probably not for you. If you’re just not ready to publically admit it, I understand. I got you, homie. The story is super whimsical, super sweet, and worth at least reading the first book. If not just to look through the cool, vintage photographs. I know it’s late in the month, but it’s a perfect read for October too.

The story is about a young boy, who after losing his grandfather under peculiar circumstances, travels to England to learn more about him. While there, he explores an abandoned orphanage and finds a collection of photos similar to the ones his grandfather had. Turns out the orphanage is a “time loop” and takes Jacob back in time. He meets a group of peculiar children that knew his grandfather. Que the mysteries and adventures that fill the trilogy of books.

Overall, I’d strongly recommend this series to anyone. Especially if you like young adult, adventurous novels that require a lot of imagination. The books fly by thanks to many pictures and a constant need to know what happens next.

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Review

Leave a Reply

